Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Week 2

June 5, 2011 ~ Day 8

We are beginning our 2nd week of our healing journey.  What an amazing journey so far.  I am learning so much about myself ~ which is weird, you would like after being married for almost 20 years, two grown adult children I would know myself better.

We were blessed today by Wendy Blight (author of Hidden Joy in Dark Places) posting a prayer:

To my sisters in Christ,

Please know you are in my prayers each day.  Every morning before I get out of bed, I pray for Melissa and each one of you.  God has you continually on my heart because I have walked in your shoes.  Your fears were my fears.  They consumed my every waking moment for years.  Satan basked in my fear.  He haunted me day and night with memories and lies to keep me imprisoned in my fear.

As you begin this journey and dig up memories that are painful, shameful, and terrifying, please know Satan is lurking.  He will fill your head with lies…”there is no hope”….”you will never get over this”…”you are not worthy”…”you aren’t like Melissa and Wendy.”  But you must know, these are all lies from the pit of hell, sweet friend.  Lies meant to keep you in your places of pity, sorrow, fear, and shame.  Satan uses emotions like fear, shame, guilt, and unworthiness to keep you captive…to keep you from the amazing life God has planned for you.  He takes advantage and works his schemes to defeat and destroy your hopes and dreams.  You see, he has hated women since Genesis 3:15 when God said to him, “From now on, you and the woman will be enemies, as will your offspring and hers.  You will strike His heel, but He will crush your head.”

What is on my heart today is a powerful TRUTH I want you to remember as you turn every page.  Jesus, your Savior, defeated Satan on the cross at Calvary and stripped him of his power and authority. Satan is a defeated foe.  Stand in that victory today and every day!!!  God’s Word, not Satan, now defines your worth.  God’s Word is your Truth…not Satan’s lies.

As you begin your journey through Hidden Joy, you will find God’s Word  throughout my story.  Every day as I sat down to write, I prayed for the women who would one day read Hidden Joy. Precious friends, you are those women.  God has nuggets of Truth for each one of you.  Pray for Him to reveal those Truths and promises.  Pray to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.  He has so much He wants to teach you!! 

As you read, study, and pray, remember these Truths: 

[F]aith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.
Romans 10:17 

And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for [she] who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.  Hebrews 11:6 

[You] can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. Philippians 4:13 

Demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and  take captive every thought captive to make it obedient to Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:5 

With love and prayers,  Wendy 

From Melissa:

As you progress through Week 2, read Wendy’s prayer. Read it often.  Remember the Truths from God’s Word that she has highlighted in her prayer.  They are for you.  Isn’t it just wonderful that the author of this book, had you in mind when she wrote it?  And here she is today praying for you?  Do not think that hope and healing aren’t for you. (lie….pop with rubber band)  They are.  If dealing with a painful past is difficult, remember to keep your eye on the prize. As you read Chapter 2, you’ll see that Wendy never shows you an easy way out. She doesn’t disguise or downplay or sugar coat anything in her process to healing. But, what she does demonstrate is that if we are going to get where God wants us to be, it requires action on our part.  Take note, that Wendy doesn’t just sit and then magically she felt better and found joy in God.  She decided to learn about God. She pursued Him. She chose to seek answers….not just wait for them to appear.  Justice was not served in her trial, at least not how we think it should have been served. She had to find peace. So she searched and took action. I think you will love Chapter 2.  I did!  

Words of the Week:

Why?

Pursue 

Why ask why?  Because you want answers that’s why!  It’s great to ask!  Asking God why doesn’t mean you have a lack of faith or trust.  Maybe you do, but that’s ok too really.  Asking why, shows you want answers.  It doesn’t mean you’ll get the answers you want, in fact it really doesn’t mean you’ll get answers at all.  But you never will know unless you ask, seek, and pursue.  One thing that stood out to me about Wendy Blight’s story is that she did ask God why, but she also chose to pursue God for answers.  She decided that she needed to find a different lens to see her circumstances.  Her lens was too painful and did not and would never provide the answers she needed to move on and live life. She didn’t just sit and wait. She took action with the most powerful One there is.  She pursued God.  She took action.  I want to invite and encourage you to follow her example. 

My notes and thoughts:

Wendy’s prayer really spoke to my heart.  I knew there were things God wanted me to see and to take in, things that were put on Wendy’s heart and mind to pray for me:

  • “You aren’t like Melissa and Wendy” this statement really hit me because I am forever comparing myself to other women and thinking “I am not good enough”….”it comes so easy to them”…..”if only I changed this or that about myself I would be more lovable” the list goes on.  Now I see them for what they are — lies from the pit of hell, lies meant to keep me in my place of sorrow, fear and shame.  Lies meant to keep me from all the amazing things that God has planned for me.

In Melissa’s comments again many things that I know were from God:

  • If dealing with the pain and fear are hard for you, keep your eye on the prize.  That was a big one for me, I tend to see the just here and now, so this was a great reminder to focus not on how I feel now but how I will be free and healed in the future!!
  • As you read Chapter 2 you will see that Wendy never gives you an easy way out…..it requires action on your part….Wendy doesn’t just sit there and then magically she felt better and found joy in God….she took action!!!! Those words were written from God directly to me.  I think I understand a little more.  I always waited for the good thoughts, feelings, the joy to come and heal me.  I didn’t do the work and seek it out.  I wanted it to come to me and then from there I would do what I needed to do.  Instead when those things didn’t happen ~ I thought I was unworthy, that I could be close to God but that I would never be as close as other women.  I listened to the lies, I stayed stuck in the pit of hell and I continued to give more and more power to the lies.  I never finished anything because I bought into the lies.  I grew lazy, sad, depressed and I turned into a self-serving victim instead of a VICTORIOUS child of God!!

 

Leave a Reply

