Peace in the Storm

Picture of Jack Dawson painting “Peace in the Midst of the Storm”. When I saw it it just spoke to me! Here is the scripture: I have told you these things, so that in ME you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble, but take heart! I have overcome the world. John 16:33

There are 5 hidden images in this painting, can you name any of them? Hint Mr Dawson says we have hope bc if Christ, the Cross and the Empty Tomb…. 

This picture does not do justice to the actual painting but everytime I look at it, I just feel such love — the Father’s love for me, for us, for everyone who accepts the free gift!!! 

Scroll to the bottom to see the rest of the story ~

 

 

 

All you ladies of this study will understand what I mean when I say it spoke to me….I immediately saw the storm as where I was and then I felt the peace of the LORD in finding all the clues, I was standing in the store with tears running… down my face and a huge smile on my face. Don’t know what the saleslady thought and hubby didn’t know what wax going on but after 20 years he knew it was something powerful (since we can’t afford a $590 painting) he said do you have anything cheaper that I can buy for her? I came home with a framed print for $15!!

THE IMAGES: 

 The hidden images in this painting help us see that just as the little bird (1) found a hiding place int he cleft of the rock we have a refuge in Jesus Christ (2) ~ Our Rock!  His Cross (3), was a sacrifice for our sins, and His empty tomb (4) a promise of our resurrection.  Yet we are not promised a life without storms.  In fact we know that there is always the presence of evil (5) in the world, represented by the beastly image of a snake’s head.  Through the Cross, we can overcome “because the One who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world”  1 John 4:4. Only in Christ, can we have “Peace in the Midst of the Storm.” 

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble, but take heart!  I have overcome the world”  John 16:33 

There is NO irony that this picture with this verse found me as this was a verse from week 1 of my Hidden Joy Bible Study.  Thank you LORD for Your Love Letter to me! 

2 thoughts on “Peace in the Storm

  1. Pingback: Why Seek Peace? | Welcome to Seeking Eirene

Leave a Reply

