Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Week 3

June 12, 2011 ~ Day 15 

Today is going to be an exciting day ~ my son has an art showing today, his first ever!!! 

This morning begins our 3rd week of the Hidden Joy Bible Study.  Melissa posted this week’s assignments on her blog:  Melissa Taylor ~ Week 3 

From Melissa 

First I want to talk to my ladies who have just received their books or are still waiting.  Thank you so much for signing up for this Bible study even though you couldn’t start on time or you are still waiting on your book.  Bless you for your patience. I know it’s hard to see others commenting and discussing the chapters when you haven’t been able to read them yet.  I’m so glad you are still hanging in there. I promise you that catching up is not hard. This book is fabulous and you won’t want to put it down anyway.  Just read and do the Bible study portion of the book and catch up when you can.  Don’t skip ahead though. You won’t want to miss anything! 

Ladies, I am still just amazed at how many are doing this study together. My heart is so full of love for God and love for all of you. Already I have made some great new friends who have touched my life in a profound way. We even have a new sister in Christ that I am so dang excited about I can hardly stand it! There is so much going on via the blog, Facebook, behind the scenes…God is at work!   Thank you so much for friending me here and becoming such a valuable part of this group.  Your prayers and encouragement uplift me daily.  Thank you for blessing me. 

Words of the Week:

Light

Understanding


Psalm 119:130 

“The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.” (NIV) 

Understanding your word brings light to the mind of ordinary people.”  (CEV) 

The teaching of your word gives light, so even the simple can understand.” (NLT) 

“Break open your words, let the light shine out, let ordinary people see the meaning (understanding).” (The Message) 

Some of us have been in the dark for some time. Many of us just don’t understand. This week we are praying Psalm 119:130, for God’s Word to bring us out of the dark, into the light and give us a new understanding.  A new understanding of God. A new understanding of His Word. A new understanding of what’s going on in our lives. 

Today’s Assignment

Read over the Week 3 Assignments.  Make sure you have your supplies for the week: journal, pen, Hidden Joy book, Bible.  Pray for yourself.  Pray that God will guide you and give you the strength you need.  Pray for Him to reveal wonderful new things to you through this week’s study, to give you understanding.  If you have time, comment on the blog or Facebook page. Post your prayer requests. 

My Notes, Thoughts and Posts 

*  My post this morning:  It’s so hard for me to grasp that we are entering week 3!!! Some moments I feel like I haven’t made any progress and I am still where I was 3 weeks ago and then some moments I am amazed at the shifts in my thinking, attitude and behaviors!   I really like this weeks words – light and understanding – it’s going to be a great week 

*  A post from a someone on the study, these really touched my heart: 

  • Trust Me & don’t be afraid for I am your Strength & Song. Do not let fear dissipate your energy, Instead, invest your energy in trusting Me & singing My Song. The battle for control of your mind is fierce, & years of worry have made you vulnerable to the enemy. Therefore, you need to be vigilant in guarding your thoughts. Do not despise this weakness in yourself, since I am using it to draw you closer to Me. Your constant need for Me creates an intimacy that is well worth all the effort. You are not alone in this struggle for your mind. My spirit living within you is ever ready to help in this striving. Ask Him to control your mind; He will bless you with Life & Peace.
  • Let Me Help You get through this day. There are many possible paths to travel between your getting up in the morning & your lying down at night. Stay alert to the many choice-points along the way, being continually aware of My Presence. You will get through this day one way or the other. One way is to moan & groan, stumbling along with shuffling feet. This will get you to the end of the day eventually, but there is a better way. You can choose to walk with Me along the path of Peace, leaning on Me as much as you need. There will still be difficulties along the way, but you can face them confidently in My strength. Thank Me for each problem you encounter, & watch to see how I transform trials into blessings.
Leave a Reply

