Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Day 18

June 15, 2011 ~ Day 18 

Today’s assignment was to pray the prayer for Chapter 3, which I did but also I worked on yesterday’s assignments which were to answer questions 4-6.

Questions 4-6

4.  Study the following Scriptures.  Expalin what each says about how God’s Word is to relate to your everyday life.  Are there any that speak to you personally?

  • Romans 10:17 ~ our faith comes from hearing the Good News about Christ.  This is how we build up our faith.

  • 2 Timothy 3:16-17 ~ It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.  God uses this to equip and prepare us to do good work.

  • 1 Peter 2:2 ~ like newborns we need milk to survive ~ spiritual milk to gow into a full experience of salvation.

  • Proverbs 4:4-5 ~ By taking God’s Words to heart, following His commandments we will live.  We gain widsom and develop good judgement by not turning away from His Word.

  • Deuteronomy 6:5-9 ~ We should love our God with our whol being – everything we are!!  We are to commit fully to His commands, repeating them over and over to our children.  We are to talk about them when we are at home or away, when we are going to bed and when we are rising.  WE are to write them everywhere as a reminder!

5.  After reading Chapter 3, has your opinion of the Bible changed?  Yes, my opinion has changed.  Before I thought of them as Wendy did….great stories of long ago that didn’t really help me now in this day and age.  But I realize if I changed my view just a little and shifted a bit the Bible could speak to me just as Jesus did when He walked with His disciples.  I can’t read the Bible in the same way I read any other book.  I need to really let it soak in and let it speak to me asking God to show me what He wants to tell me, then I can hear God through His Word, that Word that never changes!!!  If I personalize the scripture then it becomes a love letter to me from God.  I also realize as great as it is to read scripture for 5 minutes when I get a chance that I need to still meet God quietly for coffee to really grasp what He is trying to speak to me through His Word.  Just as I would meet a friend for coffee and chit chat for a couple of hours. 

6.  Are you willing to give God a chance to show you that His Word can affect and even transform your life?  ~~~YES~~~

6.a Read Isaiah 55:8-11 ~ what could this mean in your life?  It could mean the ride of a lifetime – things I never dreamed possible and a peace even in the stormy days. It could mean living a full life instead of just getting trough the day.

6.b Read the scriptures and apply the promises to your circumstances.

  • Jeremiah 29:11 ~ will you trust that God has a plan for your future?  If yes, write out the steps you can talke to walk confidently in that trust.  If no, explain.  yes I do trust there is a plan for my life. I will use the techniques taught during this study: * just do it. * ask what now instead of why me. * spend time alone with God. * capture my thoughts. * use personalized scripture. * use a treasure chest. * remind myself that I am the daughter of The KIND and I always wanted to be a princess * learn to laugh and love. * will not compare myself to other women and most important * I will love myself!!!

  • Romans 8:28 ~ will you believe that God can take the difficult circumstances in your life and work them for His and your good?  Have you already seen evidence of the good?  If not, what can you do to realize the promises of this verse?  Yes I do realize He can work the difficult circumstances for His good. Have I seen evidence of this in my life – yes, absolutely it, the answer is in combination with the answer below.

  • Deuteronomy 8:2-4 and 2 Corinthians 4:17 ~ describe what scripture says about how God uses difficult times in our lives.  Have you experience this or observed it in the life of another?  God uses the difficult times in our lives to get our attention, to test us, shape us, to make us stronger, to depend on and to need HIM. Yes, I have seen this in my own life. And as I write this I can look back and know that at those times I was far away from God and needed to move closer to Him. Whe issues arise I need to realize that maybe I need to refocus on God and not on myself or others. It’s a signal to start spending time with HIM ~ kinda like your “oil light” going on in your car, if you attend to it things keep running smoothly however if you ignore things start creeping up, if you still ignore it then the “check engine light” comes on. Same concept. I have experienced this in my life back in May 16, 2000. I was in a car accident, at first it seemed minor but it was anything but minor. That car accident kept me from working for over a year and it took almost everything my husband and I had ~ but it also took our pride, our worship of money, our need for things to make us happy, it stripped us bare until we were humbled and made a change. This story is very long so if you would like to read more about it come backk in the next day or two and I will try to get it posted.

Chapter 3 Prayer

Heavenly Father, we come before You today as the Author of Life. We want to thank You that in You is all Truth.  Thank You that Your Word is living and active, it is eternal, and it is unchanging.  Father, take Your Word as I read and study it, and plant it in my heart.  Help it to take root and to grow deep roots.  Allow Your Word to penetrate all those places in my heart that I have been protecting, those places I don’t want to let anyone in, even You.  Father, make my heart tender to Your sweet words of life.  Till the soil of my heart so it is ready to receive all You have to teach me.  We ask all these things in Your Son’s holy name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

