Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Day 32

Assignment Today:  Answer questions 1 -4 on Chapter 5.

1.  List what brings you contentment:

  • Family members getting along
  • Laughter
  • Restful sleep
  • Keeping up on chores
  • Clean home
  • Quiet time

2.  List what steals your contentment and brings anxiety, stress and worry:

  • Kids arguing
  • Husband and son arguing
  • Yelling
  • Clutter
  • Chaos
  • Having way too much to do
  • Being on the go constantly
  • Not sleeping well
  • Being forgetful
  • Feeling lonely
  • Not getting anything done
  • Being tired
  • My son’s housing/job issues

3.  What do you spend the most time worrying about.

  • Getting things accomplished around the house
  • Family relationships and arguments

3a.  Which is under your control in the above answer?   ~ Getting things accomplished around the house.

3b.  Which is not in your control in the above answer? ~ Family relationships and arguments.

4.  Read Philippians 4:6-7.  This passage tells us not to worry but to pray about everything.  Worrying is self-centered, counter-productive and keeps our eyes on our circumstances.  Prayer is God-centered.

4a.  When you honestly examine your heart, do you find that you worry more or pray more?

  • I have to say that I probably pray more now; a year ago I would have said worried more. 

4b.  Take one or more of the items listed in question 2; commit to live out Philippians 4:6-7 by giving them over to God.  ~ I picked 3.

4c.  Write out a simple prayer, giving these worries and anxieties to God:

  • Dear LORD I thank You that You are in control of my life.  I thank You for teaching me how to let go and to release my worries and anxieties in my life.  I release to You my worries and constant dread/anxiety over the family relationships that are full of arguing and stubbornness.  My worry over M. never being able to move out and my anxiety about not getting enough sleep.  I give this to You LORD.  I know I have no control over any of these issues and that Your will shall be done. I thank You for Your help and care in these areas of my life.  I trust in Your plan and thank You for the peace I have.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.
Leave a Reply

