Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Day 41

Today is ending week 6 (hard to believe) and Stephanie’s last day of leading us through the study.  A wonderful post from her this morning at Melissa Taylor’s Blog.

I want to end the week with something Stephanie mentioned at the beginning, it’s worth remembering today and everyday: 

What would happen if you got up tomorrow, and promised yourself NO MATTER WHAT, you would refuse to harbor bitterness and/or anger towards ANYONE? I wonder how things would change? Try it? What have you got to lose?

Was I able to completely forgive just from reading Chapter 6 and answering the questions?  No, 30+ years of hurts and unforgiveness doesn’t go away in 6 short days HOWEVER…..I do feel my heart softening and yes, I will be able to forgive those who hurt me and probably today.  That’s not the hard part, the hard part is forgiving myself ~ I will be able to forgive myself what is harder is forgiving and then letting it go.  But I will because this isn’t the life I want for myself or my family anymore and I know it’s not the life God destined me to have.  I want to walk in His light, love and joy no matter the circumstances.  So will I be able to forgive by the time Chapter 7 comes around on Sunday ~ Yes, I just did!!!!  So I was wrong 30+ years of hurts and unforgiveness can go away in an instant….when you give it to God and let Him to His work.

Dear LORD thank you for moving within my heart, body and soul as I was writing this entry.  Thank You for whispering those words “why carry it around anymore, give it to ME.  I am willing and ready to take it, I have been waiting years for you to give all this to Me. ”  Thank You for opening my heart and for changing me.  Please LORD keep renewing me and strengthing me in You.  I know without a doubt that I will be tested shortly by the devil but help me to remember I gave it all to You and that’s all that matters, because I am now remade in You.  Thank You LORD for the tears that fell this morning finally!!!!  Who knew that in order to feel, be able to cry and feel my sorry all I had to do was forgive and give it over to You.  You are amazing and I love you more each day LORD.  Please be with each of my Hidden Joy sisters LORD as they work on their healing and relationship with You ~ strengthen them, remain in them, give them Your peace and comfort.  Bless and protect today and always Wendy, Melissa and Stephanie.  Thank You LORD for each one of them and for this study.  And as I say In Jesus’ Name ~ Amen!!!!  You have brought to mind words to one of my favorite songs:  

You are more than the choices that you’ve made,
You are more than the sum of your past mistakes,
You are more than the problems you create,
You’ve been remade.

6 thoughts on “Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Day 41

  1. Love your post here! You forgive, that’s great! I would like to take some time this weekend just to sit with God for awhile, quietly, praying, seeking forgiveness, whatever it may be. I haven’t been taking the time to sit quietly with God, listening for his voice in a couple of weeks now. I’ve been hurrying my quiet time in the morning so I can get it all done before the first kid gets here & that’s not right for me to do. I used to take a second quiet time in the evening hours after work but I’ve cut that almost totaly out for the last 3-4 weeks now. Things haven’t been wroking for me as well as they used to when I was taking all the time I needed for morning & evening prayer/quiet times. It’s time for me to slow down & start taking all the time I need for it again. Maybe then I’ll get to the forgiveness that I desire to get to. Have a great Friday! I’m so happy for all the progress you’re making!

    • That’s what I think has been wrong with me too….today even though I was exhausted I got up at 4:30 am and took my quiet time this morning (haven’t done that in weeks) and everything just seemed simpler and like I was home (no other way to describe it, just a peacefulness and that homey feel after you have been gone for awhile). Just made me realize I HAVE to have my quiet time that’s more than 10-15 minutes just as I need to sleep, eat or breathe!!!

      Thanks I am feeling content!!! And that’s a great feeling 🙂

  2. Isn’t it awesome what God can do when we turn it over to him? I didn’t realize all the problems I was having stemmed from not forgiving myself. Now that I have those problems are melting away.

  3. I love this post! I am so glad to hear that you have given it all to God and are letting Him do His work! That is very powerful and very freeing I am sure! I was doing pretty good with all of this until our lives got turned upside down again on Wednesday. My husband came home to tell me that he lost his job of 11 1/2 years. It really threw a kink in train of thought. Now I need to take some quiet time with God and pray and get myself back on track!

  4. oh losing a job after that long has got to be hard on you both. Just keep praying and God will show you the way. I will pray for you as well.

Leave a Reply

