Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Day 56

Questions for Chapter 8:

1.  Has there been a person whom you have clearly seen Christ?  Yes!!!

  • 1a.  What was it that drew you to that person? 
    • The peace and love that radiated in her.
  • 1b.  List the characteristics that distinguish that person from other people you know: 
    • Always makes people feel special, truly listens to others, unrushed when visiting with people, sees the good in everyone, never thinks of herself ~ it’s always what she can do for other people, never judges….the list goes on.

2.  Read the story of Mary and Martha in Luke 10:38-42.

  • 2a.  Describe the personality of each sister
    • Martha is a perfectionist and never enjoys the moment b/c she is always trying to make it perfect
    • Mary is a listener and one who enjoys the moment IN the moment
  • 2b.  Do you identify with one of the women more than the other?
    • Martha, but I so want to be like Mary

3.  Jesus says “Martha, Martha….you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed.  Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken from her”

  • 3a.  Martha simply wanted Jesus to tell Mary to help in the kitchen. Instead of giving her what she wanted, Jesus gently rebuked Martha. If you were Martha how would Jesus’ words have made you feel?
    • Defensive, hurt and angry
  • 3b.  As you read His words how did they make you feel?  What did they speak to your heart about your life’s priorities?
    • I felt sad for Martha to be honest.  I felt like because Martha was more responsible (probably raised to be more responsible) she got “stuck” with the work.  In reality maybe she wanted to sit with Jesus but who would have prepared the food then? 
    • That life’s commitments don’t need to be center of my thoughts, Jesus and people should be the center of my thoughts.  The commitments will be carried out but only if I do them in love for Jesus and the people around me.

4. Jesus told Mary that her dilemma and her behavior toward Mary were caused by the fact that she was “worried and upset about many things.”  What are signs in your life that you are in a state of anxiety or worry?  How does it affect you physically?  Spiritually?

    • Signs:  I am on edge, I snap at people, I have no patience with anyone or anything, I complain about everything, I begin to procrastinate
    • Physically:  I don’t sleep well, I isolate myself, I get migraines, I have neck and should pain
    • Spiritually:  I don’t spend time with God, I skip Mass, God becomes the last thing I think about ~ if I think of Him at all
  • 4a.   Read Proverbs 3:5-6 and Philippians 4:6-7.  What do these passages tell you to with your concerns? What is God’s promised result?
    • Proverbs:  to trust in the LORD with all your heart and not to lean on our understanding.  To acknowledge the LORD and He will make our paths straight.
    • Philippians:  to go to the LORD and pray about EVERYTHING so that His peace that makes no sense to us will be with us, we are to guard our hearts and minds!!!
    • Read Matthew 6:25-34.  Respond to this passage by personalizing the verses for yourself.  Do the same for Matthew 6:31-34.

5.  What do you think Jesus mean when He said, “Only one thing is needed.  Mary has chosen what is better?”

  • I am not sure, I have pondered this for years…..

6.  Jesus did not want Martha to change who she was; He simply wanted her to make a change in her priorities.  Mary chose to sit at the feet of Jesus before she did anything else.  WE all face distractions or barriers to our quiet time with God.  Put a check by the one(s) with which you struggle:

  • Busyness
  • trials/hardships:  feeling like you cannot count on God due to your circumstances
  • Pride:  not feeling like you need quiet time
  • Tiredness/weariness:  cannot get up early (sometimes)
  • Depression (sometimes)
  • Unworthiness:  feeling that God has more important things to do

7.  Examine your priorities.  Where does time at the feet of Jesus come into your daily activities?

  • I sit with Jesus first thing in the morning, at my lunch hour and I try to make some time in the evenings before falling asleep.
  • I come to Him through out the day too when I feel I need to lift up prayers for others or myself.

8.  Respond to what you have learned in this chapter.  Commit yourself to working toward having a heart that “chooses what is better”  a heart that will seek first the Kingdom of God.

  • 8a.  Find a time of day when you can be alone with God.  Find a quiet place, sit down, and commit to spend time with God in that place.
  • 8b.  Decide what you will do with that time.  Here are some ideas: Open your Bible and begin to read God’s Word for yourself; spend time praying, not only for your needs but also for God to reveal Himself to you; or find a devotional book and read it, asking God to speak to you.
  • 8c.  As you begin these steps, write in a notebook/journal your prayers and/or thoughts about what you are learning.

Let’s pray together:

Lord, please draw me to Your Word daily.  Your Word says that faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.  Father, as I commit to spend time with You, help me to hear Your voice.  I commit my thoughts to You and ask that You would fill me with Your Truth as I seek You each day.  help me to tune out anything that conflicts with the Truth You desire to speak to me.  Give me ears to hear and let Your Word dwell in me richly.  Give me discernment to understand all You have to say to me.  I ask this in the name of Your son, Jesus.  Amen.

 

4 thoughts on “Bible Study ~ Hidden Joy ~ Day 56

  1. Veronica, when Jesus said to Martha, “Only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better?”, I wonder if he was saying that only one thing is needed for salvation – Him – and Mary had chosen that one thing…. That is what I thought he meant, anyway… My study Bible sort of said that Mary had her priorities in the right order by putting him first… Just thought I would share my thoughts with you about this…

    • Aha, good point I never thought if it like that, I was truly thinking of it in a literal sense which I know better than to do that but yes, I bet your right!!! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

  2. Veronica I stopped reading and paused when I read your answer to question 1 , Did you know my grandma? lol. She was every bit the woman you described. The moment you stepped into her home you were welcomed with a smile. She saw the good – or tried awfully darned hard – to see the good in every body. There was just this wonderful vibe about her.She is greatly missed.

    • Isn’t it great when we have those people in our lives, the person that I was referring to is my sister-in-law, but is more to me she IS my sister and more she is my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

