In the storms…

A family member is going through a rough season, this of course affects all family members.  Especially when their broken heart makes you want to cry out in pain with them.  I am trying not to let it steal my joy and yet be there for them, guide them through and be compassionate.  You would think that was fairly easy to do, but it’s not ~ at least not for me.  When one of my children hurt, I hurt too.  I tend to not be as compassionate with them as I want to be or as they need me to be.  Not because I don’t care but because I care so much and I hate seeing them in pain. 

I realize though that this is not something I can fix and God is at work.  As hard as it is to see my child in pain, I trust the LORD and I am praising His Name – even through this storm.  This is a chance for me to practice what I preach and to gain an even closer relationship with Jesus.  I pray my child will come to know Jesus better through this storm as well. 

Last night I turned over all my cares and worries to the LORD and in His faithfulness, He granted me a full night’s sleep that was very restful.  That was a first for me, usually I worry and fret, losing sleep and making myself feel even worse but last night I slept peacefully.  This morning as I got up and began my quiet time, this was the message the LORD gave me through my devotion “Jesus Calling”

Find Me in the midst of the maelstrom.  Sometimes events whirl around you so quickly that they become a blur.  Whisper My Name in recognition that I am still with you.  Without skipping a beat in the activities that occupy you, you find strength and Peace through praying My Name.  Later, when the happenings have run their course, you can talk with Me more fully. 

Accept each day just as it comes to you.  Do not waste your time and energy wishing for a different set of circumstances.  Instead, trust Me enough to yield to My design and purposes.  Remember that nothing can separate you from My loving Presence; you are Mine.

How awesome is HE!!!!  Yesterday when I was made aware of the issues my child is going through, my very first response was to wish for a different set of circumstances.  I thought “why, why now…why are we always going through rough waters?”  The poor me pity party didn’t last longer than it took me to utter the words but I say them and the LORD showed me this morning, don’t even waste time and energy, instead keep looking to Me and my strength, my power, my love!!! 

This is one of those times we are going through the fires to test our strength but it’s not just my child who is going through, it’s me too ~ my journey, my faith and my beliefs are going through the fires as well.  And so today, just for today, I will be joyful even in the presence of the storm.  I will praise His Name.  I will give glory to Him by the way I act, talk, behave and think today.  I will keep my eyes focused on Him, instead of looking down at the rushing waters, I will look up ~ up into His Face:  my hand in His, my eyes on His.  Knowing the whole time not only does He carry me, He is carrying my child as well! 

So for today, my prayer is Psalm 34 and when the day gets too hard, the issues keep mounting and I find myself unsure, I will simply pray “Jesus”

I will praise the LORD at all times.

The LORD hears His people when they call to Him for help.  He rescues them from all their troubles.

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; He rescues those who are crushed in spirit. ~ Psalm 34:1, 17-18

Leave a Reply

