Adversity…..

Yesterday I was able to keep focused on Jesus and not on the issues of my son, although my heart ached for him and all he is going through I didn’t try to “fix it, figure it out, understand it.”  Instead, I kept crying out to the LORD and reminding myself that God will work it all out in HIS TIME.  I stayed in Jesus’ protection throughout the day, well as long as I was at work and was distant from the issue.

Coming home was a whole other story ~ it broke my heart to see my son so sad, so depressed and so unlike himself.  Let’s just say our night was one filled with much adversity and my son feels very alone and is in despair.  Nothing I say or do helps him.  I have tried to be comforting, I have tried to be stern, I have tried to praying him all to no avail. 

These things always seem to happen when I am sick and at my worst anyways.  All yesterday I just longed for some NyQuil and my bed.  However, that never happened.  Adversity!  Seems to be the story of my life with my son.  So this morning, crying out to God I open my daily devotion from “Jesus Calling”

Expect to encounter adversity in your life, remembering that you live in a deeply fallen world. Stop trying to find a way that circumvents difficulties.  The main problem with an easy life is that it masks your need for Me.  When you became a Christian, I infused My very Life into you, empowering you to live on a supernatural plane by depending on Me.

Anticipate coming face to face with impossibilities:  situations totally beyond your ability to handle.  This awareness of your inadequacy is not something you should try to evade.  It is precisely where I want you – the best place to encounter Me in My Glory and Power.  When you see armies of problems marching toward you, cry out to Me!  Allow Me to fight for you.  Watch Me working on your behalf, as you rest in the shadow of My Almighty Presence! ~ Revelation 19:1 and Psalm 91:1

Now if that’s not a Love Letter from God straight to me I don’t know what is.  So I am going to hold onto that today.  I am going to keep that letter close to me and read it as many times as I need. One of my favorite Psalms is Psalm 91 and I will keep that close to me today as well. 

I hope today finds you close to Jesus and living out your life joyfully no matter the adversities, difficulties or troubles surrounding you.  I pray for you, asking God to watch over you and your loved ones, keep you in the shelter of His protection and strengthen you for journey.  Will you lift up a pray for my son?

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest int he shadow of the Almighty ~ Psalm 91:1

9 thoughts on “Adversity…..

  1. This devotion caught my eye this morning as well. I’m most definately praying for your son & your whole family. Take Care today! I hope you’re feeling better this morning.

  2. Praying for you this day Veronica! May God give you strength and courage. Also praying for your son. This is a great love letter from God. Nothing hurts like seeing your child hurt. Satan always seems to know when to attack us. He always chooses the times when we don’t feel well or having a hard time but Praise be to God–He is always there to pick us up and hold us and give us strength to get through satan’s attack! Love & Hugs to you!

  3. With each challenge we face we have a choice to make. Struggle and strive and agonize or immediately turn to God and trust He has a plan in all this, even though we are clueless. I have found each obstacle I allow God to handle brings me to a new level of trust in His faithfulness to me. Which makes me want to get closer and closer to Him. He really does want to provide for us and love on us like a Doting Father. He loves our children and grandchildren more than we ever could and He is much better equipped to intervene in their lives than we will ever be. Standing on His word for our loved ones and stepping back allows Him to do what He does best. Which, by the way, is extremely hard when what we want to do is kiss the boo boo and make it all better.

    • I know exactly what you are saying :). It is very hard to see my children in pain, but I know God is doing some work in my son’s life and as much as it hurts I know He will bring my son through it! Thank you for your encouragement!!!

  4. I am so sorry to hear that your son is going through this tough time in his life. All you can sometimes do is just be there. Let him know yo are there and willing to listen if he needs to talk. And your right that letter was meant for you today. Keep looking up my friend and to Jesus’.

Leave a Reply

