Good Morning LORD…..

Two great devotions this morning ~ Jesus Calling and Live Loved:

Jesus Calling by Sarah Young ~

Trust Me in the midst of a messy day.  Your inner calm – your Peace in My Presence – need not be shaken by what is going on around you.  Though you live in this temporal world, your innermost being is rooted and grounded in eternity.  When you start to feel stressed, detach yourself from the disturbances around you.  Instead of desperately striving to maintain order and control in your little world, relax and remember that circumstances cannot touch My Peace.

Seek My Face, and I will share My mind with you, opening your eyes to see things from My perspective.  Do not let your heart be troubled, and do not be afraid.  The Peace I give is sufficient for you.

John 16:33 ~ Psalm 105:4 ~ John 14:27

Live Loved by Max Lucado ~ Created to Do Great Works

By the time you knew what to call it, you were neck deep in it. It’s called life.  And this one is yours.  Complete with summers and songs and gray skies and tears, you have a life.  Didn’t request one, but you have one.  A first day.  A final day.  And a few thousand in between. You’ve been given an hones-to-goodness human life.

You’ve been given your life.  No one else has your version. You’ll never bump into yourself on the sidewalk.  You’ll never meet anyone who has your exact blend of lineage, loves, and longings.  Your life will never be lived by anyone else.  You’re not a jacket in an attic that can be recycled after you are gone.

Life is racing by, and if we aren’t careful, you and I will look up and our shot at it will have passed us by.  Some people don’t bother with such thoughts.  They grind through their days without lifting their eyes to look.  They live and die and never ask why.

But you aren’t numbered among them.  It’s not enough for you do well.  You want to do good.  You want your life to matter.  You want to live in such a way that the world will be glad you did…..

We are given a choice…an opportunity to make a big difference during a difficult time.  What if we did? What if we rocked the world with hope? Infiltrated all corners with God’s love and life?

We are created by a great God to do great works. 

Wow!!! Both devotions were very amazing and inspiring today.  I felt both of them speak to me greatly.

In Jesus Calling because I have lots of “messy days” and I tend to let them swallow me up.  I get caught up in trying to gain the control in my day and when it keeps unraveling I want to crawl in bed and hide or I get mad and become a monster – it’s not pretty I can assure you!  I need the reminder of detaching myself from the disturbances around me and placing myself in Jesus’ Presence!

In Live Loved it’s a reminder to me that my days here are short, so if I continue to run and hide or go through life angry I miss out on so much, yes others are affected by my life and I am affected by their lives to a degree.  But I am the one who is really causing me the most heartache – I am the one who misses out on all that my life has to offer!  Even the bad days have much to offer.  I miss out on making a difference in the world around me; miss out on bringing Jesus to someone who doesn’t know Him; miss out on comforting someone who needs a kind word or act of kindness.  I don’t want to miss out on one thing that my life has to offer – to me or the world around me!  I want to live with joy in my heart and praise on my lips.  I want to learn to trust in the LORD even through the rough times in life and use those experiences to help others.  I want to stand before Jesus on judgement day and hear those words “well done good and faithful servant.”  I want to know that I lived for Him and not for myself – as I have done for so long in the past.

Yes, I believe in Jesus and in the forgiveness of sins and because of that I know I will go to heaven but I want more!  I want my life here to be about Him too!  I don’t want to waste a day or a minute not experiencing the life He blessed me with.  I know there are hard days, days of nothing but crying and heartache.  I have had more than half my life spent in heartache but even on those days if I remember to look up, up into the heavens and seek Him out He will dry my tears and hold me through the heartache.  One thing I have learned, the dark days do come to an end and the sun shines brighter and those days are always sweeter.  I am slowly learning too that even the dark days aren’t so dark if you spend them in prayer and you give everything – your tears, your broken heart, your fears, hopes and dreams – to Him.  The days aren’t so dark either if you look around you and see His blessings in your life, because they are there, we just need to shift our focus at times.

So today in the midst of the heartache I am going through along with recovering from an illness I will make the most of this day and live it for the LORD.  I will do that by keeping my eyes on Him, seeking out my blessings in every area of my life, offering up my difficulties, giving praise to Him and trying to find the good in everyone I meet.  And if I stumble (which is likely) I will ask the LORD to help me up and then keep moving forward with joy in my heart and praise on my lips.

Leave a Reply

