A Confident Heart, Week 1 ~ Day 4

Thursday (9/22/11) Assignment:  Answer questions 4 – 7 from Chapter 1.

4.  Describe what happens in your heart when you read God’s Word:

  • Those who hope in Me will not be disappointed (Isaiah 49:23)
  • See, I am doing a new thing! (Isaiah 43:19)
  • And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love HIm, who have been called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28)
  • All things are possible to her who believes (Mark 9:23)

I feel hopeful and encouraged.  I feel peaceful when reading these verses, no matter what’s going on around me.  I just imagine that I am sitting in His lap and His arms are around me.

5.  What do you think hinders you most from living with God-confidence on a consistent basis?  Is there a promise listed above that speaks to your greatest need right now?

My greatest hinderance is my mind.  It can talk me out of all my good intentions and causes me to think I am too tired, too far gone, too hard to change, etc.  I will say:  “See I am doing a new thing!” when my mind starts telling me I can’t.  I can say but it’s a new thing through the LORD.  I can use “All things are possible to her who believes” maybe I really haven’t believed if my mind can bring me down. I need to believe in my heart, soul and MIND!

6.  How would you describe a woman with a confident heart?

Hmmm, this one puzzles me at times.  The Webster Dictionary definition of CONFIDENCE is: 1. A feeling or consciousness of one’s power’s or reliance on one’s circumstances.  2.  Faith or belief that one will act in a right, proper or effective way.  3.  A relation of trust or intimacy.  So putting this together look at what happens:

  • A feeling or consciousness of God’s powers and reliance on Him in one’s circumstances.
  • A faith and belief in God that He will act in a right, proper and effective way.
  • A relation of trust and intimacy with God!

So to me a women with a confident heart knows who she is and is secure in God.  She may get knocked down but she will always get back up again.  She has an intimate relationship with God and she trusts in His ways.  She relies not on herself but has total reliance in God and His powerful ways.

7.  Read Jeremiah 17:7.  What does this verse promise and encourage you to do?  Think of one situation where you could live in the power of this promise and describe what that would look like this week.

Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD; whose hope is the LORD.

I looked up the definition of Hope and Trust in my Bible Dictionary.  I foudn this interesting for HOPE this is what it says:  “….this hope represents a search, an absolute confidence and a concentration of all one’s energy flowing from God’s covenant with Israel.  It does not rest on human resources and initiative, but on the all-powerful Presence of God (Psalm 18:7).  Christian hope takes its character from this absolute witness of love and God’s fidelity to His Promises.  (NAB)

HOPE – Confident trust with the expectation of fulfillment (NLT)

TRUST – to hope, to place one’s confidence in… (NLT)

This verse encourages me to trust not in myself or other people but only in the LORD, by trusting in the LORD I will have a life that is fruitful and pleasing to the LORD.  Being hopeful in the LORD means I will be strengthened through Him; in times of trouble it means when I am weak He isn’t.

The situation I choose:  Letting go of my thoughts that I am not good enough as a wife and mother.  letting go of my perfectionist tendencies so that I could enjoy my role as wife and mother.

My week would be one of enjoying my family and not waiting for the “other shoe to drop”, taking the day as it came and not trying to control everything.  Being secure knowing my house is clean enough, my meals are good enough, laughing when things go crazy instead of having a meltdown.  Being able to look at my children and husband and know that my job and role is very important and not needing constant approval.

Okay this is the verse for the week, with no peeking and no correction, let’s see how I do:

So do not throw away your confidence; you will be richly rewarded.  You need to persevere so that when you do the will of God you will receive His promises.  Hebrews 10:35-36

 

The correct:  So do not throw away your confidence, it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.

2 thoughts on “A Confident Heart, Week 1 ~ Day 4

  1. A confident woman:
    Radiates with a God given beauty. She reflects the true nature of God.
    She is fearless but not careless. She knows God will provide her protection.
    She seeks God in all her decisions.
    She has a servant’s heart not just for her family, church, or friends but for everyone. Even when she is in need, she serves others.
    She smiles even when she wants to cry because she knows God is at the wheel, ready and waiting to catch her tears, stroke her hair, and whisper ‘I love you dearly, my daughter’.
    She is mother, wife, sister, daughter, aunt, friend, and many others. She may experience failure in any of these areas but she is always humble in her duties.
    Most importantly, she knows she is a loved child of God!

Leave a Reply

