Today’s Devotional

From is Princess – Love Letters from Your King by Sheri Rose Shepherd

I know you want to be accepted by others, but you were not made to fit in.  You, My princess, were created to stand out.  Not to draw attention to yourself, but to live the kind of life that leads others to Me.  Remember, it’s your choices that will pave your path to life.  I will not force you to do anything.  I have given you a free will to walk with Me or to walk away from Me.  I want you to know that you can put on your crown at any time and let people know that you belong to Me.  You have a royal call on your life.  I want you to remember you wear a crown of everlasting life, and through you I will do abundantly more than you would ever dare to dream.  Love, Your King and Crown Giver.

Wow, the first line grabbed me – how many times in my life have I said to myself “I don’t fit in” and now I know there is a reason why!

I have never thought of myself as standing out in the crowd – I am not funny, I am awkward in most social situations, quiet and times and very shy.  I am not all that beautiful, being rather plain.  But to know that my King wants me to stand out but not draw attention to myself gives me so much peace – allows me to be who I am and be comfortable in that – Confident even!!  That I am to quietly draw people to Him not by being someone or something I am not but by living a life that speaks volumes to others ~ in the choices i make, the actions I take, the way I behave – in essence by being the hands and feet of Jesus!  It fills my heart with so much peace and love!

Ever since I was a little girl I dreamed of being a princess (what little girl hasn’t). I think that’s part of why I love reading everything I can about the 11th century and other medieval times – it’s all about kings, queens, princes and princesses.  although I have come to the realization being a princess wasn’t all I thought it was and I am very thankful I wasn’t born as a princess in those days.  But now I have the title and role of a princess that comes from The King and that is way better than any fairy tale ever! 

So when those negative thoughts come I will remind myself “that is no way to talk or think about a royal princess”  I will treat God’s princess with love, kindness and respect.  I will hold my head high, knowing my self-worth is in Him.  That I am valuable, that I am loved and no one can make me feel otherwise unless I give them permission.  I am responsible for me thoughts, words and feelings and I need to hand over control of those to God removing the control I have given to satan for way too long. 

I am the beloved daughter of The King ~ I am a royal princess and no one can take that away from me!

Am I now trying to win the approval of men or of God?  Or am I trying to please men?  If I were still trying to please me, I would not be a servant of Christ ~ Galatians 1:10 NIV

3 thoughts on “Today’s Devotional

  1. Love love love this. I too am trying to learn to treat the princess(me) a little bit better! Yes, He is our king and we need to act, think, speak like we are part of the KINGDOM. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Veronica, I feel the same way you do in most situations. I just don’t fit in. I’m really trying to get to a place where what other people say or think about me doesn’t affect me. It’s so hard when you lived all of your life the other way. Thanks for your comment. It really helped me!!!!

Leave a Reply

