Made to Crave ~ Chapter 1 Questions

Describe what your craving looks like and how it behaves?

It’s hard to describe except for it being a heavy weight pushing me down and coming over me – making me feel like I have no energy and that I can’t fight it.  An oppressive cloud that consumes and overtakes me.

As soon as I have a plan to overcome my procrastination and tiredness I feel the craving of putting all my plans off until another day.  I feel the urge to crawl into bed creeping over me.  Once I am off work, walking to my car the feeling seems to consume me.  By the time I walk in the door at home it’s easier to give in, crawl into bed ~shut out the world ~ instead of fighting the tiredness.  It’s easier to make excuses, hide and feel guilty.

How do you respond to the idea that God made us to crave (page 20)?  Have you ever pursued a craving – a longing, passion or desire – that made a positive contribution to your life?

I like the idea that God made us to crave – it means that cravings in of themselves aren’t bad and can have a good purpose.  It’s all in how we respond to cravings and if we can tell the difference between good and bad cravings.

Yes, the longing to feel loved and accepted for who I am.  That longing made me search out and find Hidden Joy Bible study, A Confident Heart Bible study and this Bible study.  That longing helped me grow closer to Jesus and to let go of the past, embrace the future and to live more than I ever have.

If it’s true that we are made to crave, how might it change the way you understand your cravings?  Do you believe there could be any benefits to listening to your cravings rather than trying to silence them?  If so, what might those benefits be?  If not, why?

I will look at my cravings and ask myself “does this bring glory to God or take me further away?”  If I give in to the cravings and need to make excuses or hide it from others than it’s obviously not a craving laid on my heart from God.

I believe listening to your cravings can be beneficial to a point.  Not giving in to them but listening and examining the cravings.  That way you can learn the warning signs, your vulnerabilities and triggers.  Each time you go to God and then defeat a bad craving you are strengthened and feel empowered to continue defeating those bad cravings.

The Bible describes three ways satan tries to lure us away from loving God:  cravings, lust of the eyes, and boasting (1 John 2:15-16)  Lysa explains how satan used these tactics with both Eve and Jesus (pages 22-23).  Using the list below, think back over the last twenty-four hours or the last few days to see if you recognize how you may have been tempted in similar ways:

Cravings:  meeting physical desires outside the will of God.  In what ways were you tempted by desires for things such as food, alcohol or drugs?

Tempted by sweets-cookies, candy, chocolate, etc.  I wake up in the middle of the night and must have something sweet or I can’t go back to sleep.

Sleep – it’s hard to describe but as soon as I wake up, I think about all the things I have to do, want to do and should do.  I get so very tired mentally that I start looking for a time when I can take a nap.  It’s like I make myself tired on purpose then schedule my day around my nap.

Nap time for me can consist of actually sleeping or wasting time on my phone, reading, crossword puzzles = basically avoidance from responsibilities that I don’t want to do.

Lust of the eyes:  meeting material desires outside the will of God.  In what ways were you tempted by desires for material things – clothing, financial portfolio, appliances, vacations, cosmetics, home décor, electronics, etc. ?

Wanting the newest electronic gadgets, wanting my house to be different – I focus on what my home lacks such as wanting a pricey new closet organizer and justifying it by saying it would make me less stressed.

Boasting:  meeting needs for significance outside the will of God.  In what ways were you tempted by desires to prop up your significance – perhaps by name dropping, exaggerating, feigning humility or other virtues, doing something just because you knew it would be observed by others, etc.

This was huge for me in the past.  I had a huge need to be significant in the eyes of others.  In the last 2 years God has been working on me in this area.  I am more aware of this now and can usually spot it when I am starting to fall into this trap.  I know I slip sometimes but I am quicker to notice it and go to God with it now.

Of the three kinds of temptations, which is the most difficult for you to resist?

Cravings are the hardest.  Although over the last two months I have slowly changed that.  Instead of drinking soda, tea, etc.  I allow myself one caffeinated coffee and one decaf coffee other than that it’s water only and now I don’t crave anything but water :0)

Leave a Reply

