Made to Crave ~ Chapter 5

Although today Melissa’s website is talking about chapter 6, I took a little bit longer on chapter 5.

How many times have I went through the honeymoon phase and believe “this time I will succeed, this time is different?” Too many times to count and something always throws me off.  So why will this time be different, because this time I am not doing it for the compliments, I am not doing it to feel better about myself through MY actions and I am not doing it to stand out and say look at what I HAVE accomplished.  Instead I am growing closer to God, relying on Him to be my everything and that’s why this time WILL be different.  I am not beginning another cycle – I am putting a stop to the cycle once and for all, letting God be my everything.

Every year of since I was 5 years old on Ash Wednesday through Holy Saturday I gave up something that means the world to me.  For those six weeks although I may miss my “forbidden” item I am able to give it up.  Why?  Because I knew there was a higher purpose, a sacrifice to show my dependence on God.  This is no different, it’s just a lifetime change instead of 6 weeks during Lent.

Looking back on all the “things” I have given up through the years tells me I have been practicing for this journey.  I have given up at one time or another:

  • Sweets
  • Soda
  • Shopping
  • Snacking in between meals
  • Reading
  • Distractions:  computer, games, facebook, etc.

During Lent I also add something to my daily life that brings me closer to God:

  • Spending more time in prayer
  • Time with family
  • Giving more of my time and talents

Each time during Lent when the cravings for the forbidden item would come up I would offer a prayer “I am offering my wants up to You, Lord, I am lovingly sacrificing my wants to walk with You in a deeper way.”

Why I never put tow and two together before beats me but now that I realize I have been practicing for this moment in time gives me confidence. I am made for more, my God is bigger than any craving.

“I am offering my wants up to You, Lord!”

4 thoughts on “Made to Crave ~ Chapter 5

  1. Way to Go!!!! I am so behind on posting on my blog but I am writing in my journal- since I have no class tomorrow I may use that time to catch up with my blog. Lent is the perfect time to give something up- I hadn’t thought of it that way. Thanks.

  2. I really enjoyed this blog. I have never worshiped as catholic but I have always thought that lent is a powerful tenet of that faith that speaks to me. I have even partisipated in the principle if not the cerimony of it. I gave up music once for lent. My daughter who loves music pointed out that there is nothing wrong with music especially since i listen to christian music. I explianed to her that it wasn’t about right or wrong. For me music is always playing in the background filling the empty moments when nothing is going on. When that was removed it made a space in my busy day for God to meet me. I can’t even tell you how much more of God’s presence I felt in my day. Then when I turned my radio back on and started listening to music agian it was like my ears were still “trained to hear His voice”. I really love your prayer offering up your wants to walk in a deeper way with God. I used prayer to make it though my lent journey too. I had not thought about the connection to the chapter in the book about tearing down our tower of impossibility and building a walkway of prayer but that is what it was like for me. I also like the thought of giving up something and replacing it with something else that draws us even closer.

  3. The idea of focusing on what we have is very important. Often we focus on what we don’t have instead of focusing on what we do have. We could stop focusing on the food we are not eating and focus on our time with God eating His word and establishing a closer walk with him.

  4. Pingback: WATCH TIME IDENTICAS

Leave a Reply

