A Family Redeemed by God ~ Update

If you are visiting from Melissa Taylor’s blog, thank you so much for stopping by.  If not and you would like to read our story please visit Melissa Taylor’s website.

I would like to update our story – an update that came after I wrote this.  After praying for many years for peace to come to our home (and with a side note prayer of ‘please LORD don’t make me wait as long as Abraham and Sarah did for Isaac’) our home has peace.  Our son just moved into his own place.  He is living in an ISL – Independent Structured Living home.  He has 2 roommates and a full-time staff to help him with life skills and social skills.

It is amazing the difference in my life all of a sudden.  For 22 years I am on my knees begging God to “fix it,” at times getting so angry with Him, at times yelling at Him “why would you give me this life after all the stuff of my childhood?”  I resented God very much at times.  I feel into deep depressions over the years.  Then after letting go and giving EVERYTHING to God not just in my words but in my heart, soul and actions it was like a light switch was flipped.  One day we have strife and heartache the next day we are packing up our son to begin his new life. I never thought I would live to see the day when we didn’t have to be the 24/7 caregivers for our son.  I never thought we would get to live like newlyweds, just the two of us – we have always had kids.

Do I still live with regrets – no, not any more.  If I wouldn’t have lived through every trial, every heartache, every fall I wouldn’t have come to rely on Jesus as my EVERYTHING.

Our daughter, who for many years had her life interrupted by our son moves into her own apartment on June 1st.

After I get done recovering from 22 years of sleep deprivation, we will enjoy every minute of our empty nest.  I also look to healing our relationship with our son.  I have used many Scriptures to get me through the dark days but God kept putting one specific one in front of me through the last several years:

For I know the plans I have for you, says the LORD, plans to prosper you, not to harm you! Plans to give you a future and hope.  ~Jeremiah 29:11

I pray that you are comforted by God in reading my story.  That you will know nothing is impossible for HIM.  No amount of time passed, regrets, wishes for do-overs, no matter how old or young your children are, no matter how old or young you are, He is there waiting to redeem you and your story, He is standing there at your side waiting for you to hand it all over to Him.  Dear Lord, I ask for Your comfort, Your loving arms to be wrapped around each person who reads this story today.  Fill them up with Your grace, mercy, forgiveness and love.  Let them know they are never alone and that they are valuable to You.  In Jesus’ Name Amen

5 thoughts on “A Family Redeemed by God ~ Update

  1. Thank you for blessing me with your story and for sharing so openly. My son is not autistic but I can relate to some of what your family has gone through. My son is 20 and has turned away from God and turned to friends that have led him into drinking and drugs. He was saved as a child but due to what I believe is a very deep hurt that happened to our family, he turned away from God. It seems our family is constantly in an uproar because of his actions. He has no direction or desire to pursue an educaiton or even to get a full time job. Our daughter is 16 and has experienced all this with us and I feel bad that she has had to have her teenage years disrupted. I have always been a Christian and was a preacher’s kid for many years. But until we were confronted with a prodigal child, I never really had the personal relationship with God that I have now. I don’t know how this will end, I don’t even see it ending anytime soon but i’m trying to place my faith in God and leave it with Him. That is the hard part. I love my son so much and I just pray he will turn back to the Lord. Thank you again for sharing.

    • Thank you for your comment. I am so sorry to hear about your son and his choices. I understand the constant uproar or as I say our home was in a sea of chaos. I hope your daughter can get back some of her life, I know college has been a huge blessing for my daughter as she got away from the chaos and was able to have her own life. I know it’s hard but the blessing out of this is you DO have a personal relationship now with the LORD and that might not have happened if not for your trials with your son. I will be praying for you and your family. God knows the ending of your story, don’t be afraid 🙂

  2. Hi new friend, nice to meet you! 🙂 I just got to know you a little bit through your writing, so thank you for sharing! We love a big God who loves us more… enjoy your healing, resting, and loving time ahead sister! ~ Blessings, Amy Alves

  3. Hi! I just know got to read your guest post on Melissa’s blog. Thank you for being so real and vulnerable. Yes, your story will help many young moms in the thick of raising kids. But it also helps moms like me whose kids are older and who cannot “do over” what we have done. Love the powerful truths God has taught you. Thank you for reminding me that what we need to do is trust God with our circustances, learn from them, and pray for Him to redeem any mistakes. Thank you for sharing such wise words with us. You truly encouraged me today!

    Blessings to you,

    Wendy

    • Ah, Wendy – thank you!!! That it means the world to me that you read my post and left me a comment. I have to thank you for the truths God is showing me and that I am obeying. Without your HJ book and the study last year – I wouldn’t be here today.

      Love you and hope to see you at She Speaks

Leave a Reply

