Chapter 6 – Part 2

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him.”  ~ Romans 8:28

When you read that verse do you believe that?  Do you believe that in your heart, in your soul and in your mind?  Do you believe that and trust in it when chaos is part of your world?  Do you believe in it when you are living through what can only be described as a “living hell?”

I have to say, before this past year of my own “living hell” I only believed in it when things were going well.  During the rough times, I would read this verse, yelling at God “really?”  However, through several events in the last nine years I have learned to believe this verse in my heart, in my soul and in my mind.  Now when this verse comes to mind, it is followed up with Scripture used in Chapter 1 of An Untroubled Heart:

Consider it all joy my brothers, when you encounter various trials, for you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  And let perseverance be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.  ~ James 1:2-4

Reminds me of the saying “what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger.”  I can now look back on the journey of the last nine years and see God was there all along.  Had I given up my plans, my ways and my need for control, I would have saved a lot of heartache.  I can look back at the last eighteen months specifically and see how each set back, each heartache, each dream lost was a bigger piece of  my story.  My story of finding Jesus and learning to trust Him.  Each one was an important step in faith.  Each heartache was strengthening me for the next step.  Each time I said goodbye to another dream, was in preparation for a dream Jesus had for me.  And just when I cried out “Jesus, this is too much!”  He would place upon my heart:

You can do all things through Me.  Pick up your cross and follow Me.

On Ash Wednesday, I finally did!  I picked it up and surrendered it all to Him:  my fear, my anger, my dreams, my control, my husband, my children, absolutely EVERYTHING!!  And that’s when I saw His mighty power, that’s when I saw the impossible happen.  That’s when I knew I can do nothing in my power.  That’s the day I let go of worry, fear and trying to control everything in my life.

Over the six weeks of Lent, I conditioned my mind not to worry or fear.  If I began to worry I would immediately say “God has it covered, MOVE FORWARD!”  Ironically, if I subconsciously begin to worry I don’t realize it until I say that phrase out loud – makes for interesting conversation at work.

I pray that Romans 8:28 will help you lose your fears and know you are valuable to God.  You are His delight!

The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you, He will quiet your with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.  ~ Zeph. 3:17

 

For more encouragement on Learning to Trust, visit Melissa Taylor’s website for a great post by Stephanie Clayton.

Leave a Reply

