Chapter 8 ~ An Untroubled Heart

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” ~ 2 Corinthians 12:9

I remember the day I finally realized exactly what this verse meant. It was the day I finally gave up my son to the LORD, which came after a very tumultuous night. I woke up the next morning with a very heavy heart, I couldn’t’ shed another tear and I was angry, this time though instead of being angry at God, I got made – VERY MAD – at satan.

I started yelling “you can NOT have my son – he belongs to Christ. You may have been successful up to this point but NO MORE. he is covered by Jesus’ death on the Cross. No longer will I allow you to control my mind, my emotions or my behavior by fear of my son. You are don here, NOW BE GONE!!!!!”

Immediately I began to laugh at how foolish it would have looked to someone to walk into my bedroom and see me that way, but I didn’t care I was full of a peace I had never felt. I felt something other than fear for my son’s future finally sink into my heart. I knew without a doubt the future didn’t hold despair instead it held hope. I let Jesus speak to my heart and I was reassured:

That no matter what happened to my son on this earth, NOTHING could take him away from Jesus. This life isn’t what matters. It’s not the main even, it’s the opening act. No matter what heartache I may face in the future with my son, no matter how heavy my mama’s heart may get, I can live through it, why? Because I have my source of strength and my source of hope in Christ. Nothing on this earth can overcome the LORD and my son belongs to the King of all kings!

That was the day I finally decided to let go and let God have full control of my son’s life AND my mama’s heart. That was also the day I began to see His mighty hand. The day everything in my life changed.

My God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my refuge and my savior. ~ 2 Samuel 22:3

Visit Melissa Taylor’s website for more on An Untroubled Heart Bible study.

4 thoughts on “Chapter 8 ~ An Untroubled Heart

  1. I love you for sharing this tonight Veronica! I’m praying that same prayer of faith tonight… not for my son, but for my friend, my “brother” in Christ! He has gone over to the dark side, but the dark side won’t be aloud to keep him much longer. ~ Blessings upon you and all over you tonight sister, Amy

    • I am so glad it has helped you…..God’s timing is always perfect, I was going to wait and post tomorrow but felt moved to do so tonight. Now I am glad I followed His leading. I pray you too have many blessings rain down on you. ~ Love, V~

  2. V.. I am thankful that God brought you into my life. This week has been very difficult for me on many levels. I certainly need prayer and would appreciate any you could lift up for me..

Leave a Reply

