I’m Somewhere in Here

So excited to see what Heather has for us today while she steps in for Melissa.  Join me for today’s post by Heather, by clicking here.

This is the title to Chapter 4 of I Used to be So Organized by Glynnis Whitwer.  The title capture my attention immediately, I feel like that often:  Somewhere inside me is ME.  I have been finding bits and pieces slowly but I still can’t quite get a picture of who I am. It is scary and exciting at the same time but more often it’s very lonely.

Not only did the title speak to me but sadly the truths Glynnis learns about herself are the same things I have been learning about myself and slowly through each Bible study they have been stripped away one by one.  I can relate to the behaviors Glynnis writes about:

  • I have lived my whole life on building my worth on my accomplishments;
  • I tried so hard for so long to control the world around me only to have it come crashing down;
  • Frustration reigned in my heart and mind more than anything else;
  • My heart was a mess;
  • I moped when I didn’t get my way;
  • Poison and bitterness filled my thoughts;
  • Low self-esteem, depression and feeling like a nobody has been with me for my whole life
  • I was self-centered;
  • Self-interest motivated much of my life;
  • I was motivated to prove myself worthy to others and myself by what I did;
  • My priorities were upside down;
  • It has at times (even now sadly) been about me, me, me;

 I don’t have it all together; I am a work in progress needing my Creator’s Hand each and every day.  Some days I slip back into my old habits but I catch myself pretty quickly or something comes to my attention and slaps me.

In this day and age it is easy to fall into the trap that doing more is the key to success, financial freedom and happiness but I have lived that way too long, I know that’s NOT the key.  The key is as Glynnis writes is by BEING versus DOING (page 52).  By being centered in God’s will.  If your heart is where God wants it to be, you’ll see things with new eyes, have more peace and feel less pressured to get things just so (page 54).

Take the time to enjoy the simple pleasures.  Don’t feel guilty for sitting on the porch enjoying nature, soaking in your children’s play time, enjoying a leisure hour or two with your loved one.

I drive my family crazy because I take pictures of everything, no matter what is going on.  I take pictures of the sky as we drive to dinner.  I take pictures of beautiful flowers as walk into a business, church, and someone’s home.  I take pictures of probably twenty things each and every day.  Why?  Because I don’t want to forget the way God shows up in my life.  I want to treat every day as if it were special; these moments are gone before we know it.  I have learned to stop and enjoy the simply things – however, I still need help to match my outsides with my insides (page 47).

If you would like to join our Bible study, it’s not too late.  To find out more information or to sign up go to Melissa Taylor’s website.  I want to leave you today with one verse from Chapter 4 along with one saying that my friend Karen Dye has taught me.

“The LORD does not look at the things man looks at.  Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”  1 Samuel 16:7b

*~* It’s NOT about me, it’s all about HIM *~*

It’s all about Him. From Girl Talk “live”

Leave a Reply

