Do the Work

A dear friend posted the above statement yesterday.  It got me to thinking.  Three little words, how powerful they can be when we trust in Jesus.

As many of you know, I attended She Speaks Conference last week.  Let me give you a short version of the weekend:

  • Day One ~ I was encouraged and excited.  I knew there was a purpose for me attending!
  • Day Two ~ By the time I crawled into bed I had a heavy heart and many tears, with thoughts racing through my mind…
      • Thinking “Is this where God wants me?”
      • “Is this His plan or mine?”
      • “I am not as talented at writing as all these other women!”
  • Day Three ~ I woke up praying the LORD would show me a path.  Trusting He would show up in a huge way.  I wasn’t disappointed.  Whitney Capp’s talk was exactly what I needed.  Through out her talk, I kept hearing:  OBEDIENCE!

Returning home I had an overwhelming spirit of exhaustion.  I couldn’t get my thoughts to slow down long enough to journal.  I was stuck, feeling unworthy to have attended She Speaks!

Then my friend’s post:  Do the Work!  I realized my feelings of confusion and exhaustion were tied to the fact I wasn’t sure if I was up to doing the work required.  Often when we see all the details of a project before us, we get overwhelmed and discouraged, we allow the enemy to wear us down before we even get started.

Today I want to encourage you to be obedient to Jesus and just do the work.  Rely on Him and His Word:

Be firm and steadfast; go to work without fear or discouragement, for the LORD God, my God, is with you.  He will not fail you or abandon you before you have completed all the work for the service of the house of the LORD.  ~1 Chronicles 28:20

What stops you from doing the work?  Will this verse help you complete the work God is calling you to do?  Leave me a comment and share your thoughts.

11 thoughts on “Do the Work

  1. Veronica, You always do the work. You have such an obedient heart for the Lord. Don’t ever doubt that you are exactly where God wants you to be. I am thankful for your friendship and encouragement.

  2. I remember the post, “Do the Work” but for the life of me couldn’t remember who wrote it. I enjoyed your post as always but see how easily I get off track. P.S. Did I tell you your button is cute? 🙂

  3. Great re-cap Veronica girl! Thank you for giving me more light into your life… obedience is huge! We can trust Him… as He prods us out of our comfort zones. So good sister! ~ Love, Amy 🙂

  4. Veronica, I just love this post! I am here re-reading it. This theme of ‘do the work’s is very heavy on me right now. I love how God used this to bring together more thoughts and blogs…. it even came up in the message at church on Sunday!
    Obedience is hard… I am learning the hardest part is trusting in what you ‘hear’ from God and believing it is really God and not just your own plan. If God showed up in front of me, in body and audible voice and said ‘Do such and such’ … I don’t think I would struggle so much with the obedience part…It all comes down to faith. Faith in what we can’t see and can’t hear. And truly trusting that He knows best. For what it’s worth, you are a great writer! Thank you tor blessing me with this post!

Leave a Reply

