Fabulous Friday with Cheryl

The Big Splash by Cheryl Bardwell

When I was in the sixth grade, I wanted to have a bunking party to celebrate my eleventh birthday. I wanted to invite four of the five girls in my class, however my mom said “all of or none of them.”  Carrie was the new girl who just into our school district, and even though I talked to her my friends didn’t really like her. She was different; she had a little rounder physique than the rest of us and wore ugly black glasses.  The four of us had been together since first grade, but I had to invite her if I wanted to have my party.

It was  an unusually warm day that January so we took a hike around our farm.  Our farm had a stream, so we got this bright idea to cross the old rotten log that went from one side of the stream to the other. I crossed third, while Carrie was the last to step onto the log. She got to the middle of the log, *SNAP* the log broke and down she went into the water with a big splash. Of course, being ten years old, the other four of us started giggling. All of us except Carrie, she was trying to pull herself off the bottom of the creek, while sobbing. When we got to the house my mother, dressed Carrie in warm clothes and a mug of hot chocolate, while she admonished the rest of us for being insensitive. When I look back on this time in my young life I am ashamed by many of my actions, but none more than not helping Carrie off the bottom of the creek.

We all hit bottom sometimes. My bottom, was a deep dark black cloud of depression and despair that engulfed me like a fog.  For others their bottom may be gambling, drugs, alcohol or another addiction that take over their lives.  Some people hit bottom because of financial problems, relationship problems and family problems.

My question to you my friend, is what do you do when you see someone is at their bottom? Do you point and laugh like I did when I was ten? Or do you reach down and point them in the direction of the Light? The Light of the Lord led me through my bottom, I followed Him and He guided me through the darkness.

He called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.  ~1 Peter 2:9
 

Fabulous Fridays with Cheryl Link Up Party!  If you have a blog and want to link up, just click on the link below to add your information.  Feel free to link up any post that encourages others on their walk with the LORD or a post that can help others gain more time in their day by sharing a quick and easy recipe, a household tip, etc.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

4 thoughts on “Fabulous Friday with Cheryl

  1. Pingback: Riding the Waves of Change « Julie Sunne

  2. Pingback: Riding the Waves of Change - Julie Sunne

Leave a Reply

